Regarding this post about the new hellenistai.com forum:

It has recently been brought to my attention that I am deliberately misleading people into thinking that Hellenismos and Hellenic reconstruction are inclusive of such things as ADF’s Hellenic kin, Hellenic Wicca, and  sundry other things which are in fact not Hellenic reconstruction.

I apologize. Perhaps I am sorely mistaken in my belief that my post clearly conveyed that the forum was for Hellenic reconstructionists, and others of varying degrees of Hellenic interest (“It’s basically aimed at anyone with any sort of Hellenic religious interest from the pure Hellenic reconstructionists to the Hellenic-inspired neopagans to Greco-something else syncretists.”) but I have yet to hear of any confusion on this from anyone else so I was under the impression that the rest of the world understood what I was saying. Oh, boy- look at that egg on my face!

I would very much like to respond to that individual on the forum where this was said, however the owner of said forum has so far not seen fit to activate the account which I registered several days ago. So I am clarifying myself here, and will respond at more length to this individual’s other comments on that forum over on Damn Pagans.

I am certainly not in the business of attempting to mislead people into believing that they practice a religion that they might not in fact practice. It’s not particularly fun, there really isn’t much profit in it and it causes so many headaches much like this one. It’s really quite inconvenient and therefore really not worth wasting time that I could have been doing important things like re-ordering my Netflix queue. (In case you missed it, that was sarcasm and therefore not to be taken seriously. Just pointing that out preemptively so that I don’t find myself needing to make another “clarification” post.)

I’m honestly completely unclear how my statement could be taken to mean “Hellenic neopaganism=Hellenic reconstruction”- even if you take your glasses off and squint really hard through the fog, but clearly someone very talented has managed to sniff it out. A gold star to you, Mister Alexander.

